Napoli’s Osimhen and Barcelona’s Oshoala are the nominees for the Ballers Awards

Napoli striker Victor Osimhen is among the nominees for the 2021 Ballers Awards.

In a plush unveiling ceremony held on Friday evening, the Super Eagle will compete for honors in four categories, namely: Fan Favorite Baller, Striker of the Year, Baller of the Year, while his effort against Lesotho will compete for the Super Eagles Goal of the Year.

Thanks to her impressive outing for Barcelona – a side she helped win the Spanish league title and return home with the top scorer gong, Oshoala faces a tall order with Rasheedat Ajibade of the Atletico Madrid, Chiamake Nnadozie, Uchenna Kanu and Christy Uchebe in the quest to be named ballerina of the year.

Oshoala also has to negotiate his way past Watford’s William Troost-Ekong, Saudi-based Odion Ighalo and Super Eagles captain Ahmed Musa for the Humanitarian of the Year award.

Calvin Bassey’s impressive form for Scottish Premiership side Rangers has not gone unnoticed as he will compete against Anayo Iwuala, Monday Gift, Raphael Onyedika and Abraham Marcus in the Newcomer of the Year category.

“We are going to see the biggest football awards show in Nigeria. We are bringing in some innovations, we are expanding it to more categories, the event itself is going to be bigger, the publicity is going to be a lot bigger, said the organizer of the event, Gbenga Salu. Complete sports.

“We are also talking in conjunction with some foreign media to make sure that even the players who are nominated enjoy the joy of being nominated by their clubs, the media and all that. So I think people should expect the biggest award show in Nigeria.”

This year’s edition is expected to be seen by over 500,000 people on Nigeria’s major television channels.


Revelation of the year
Anayo Iwuala
Calvin Bassey
Monday gift
Raphael Onyedika
Abraham Marcus

Fan favorite baller
Victor Osimhen
Asisat Oshoala
Kelechi Iheanacho
Ola Aina
Maduka Okoye
Joe Aribo
Ahmad Musa

Goalkeeper of the Year
Maduka Okoye
Adebayo Adeleye
Francois Uzoho
Adewale Adeyinka

Defender of the Year
Leon Balogun
William Troost-Ekong
Zaidu Sanusi
Olisa Ndah

Midfielder of the Year
Joe Aribo
Wilfred Ndidi
Frank Onyeka
Bonnké Innocent

striker of the year
Victor Osimhen
Anthony Nwakaeme
Paul Onuachu
Kelechi Iheanacho
Sadiq Omar

Baller of the Year – Male
Paul Onuachu
Joe Aribo
Victor Osimhen
Kelechi Iheanacho

Baller of the Year – Female
Rasheedat Ajibade
Asisat Oshoala
Chiamaka Nnadozie
Uchenna Kanu
Christy Ucheibe

Humanitarian of the Year
Asisat Oshoala
William Troost-Ekong
Odion Ighalo
Ahmad Musa

Most Promising Baller
Afolabi Yusuf
Adewale Oluwatobi
Monday gift
Ajani Wahid
Afolabi Timothy
Ibrahim Bala

Coach of the year
Kennedy Boboye
Diepreye Telbowei
Fatai Osho
Gernot Rohr

Super Eagles Goal of the Year

Iheanacho vs Liberia (Second goal)
Onuachu v Lesotho
Osimhen vs Lesoho
Leon Balogun vs Central African Republic

Top Local Player
Silas Nwankwo
Adeleke Adekunle
Olisa Ndah
Charles Atshimene
Anayo Iwuala

Best TV/Vlog

Jimmie Akinsola (Supersports)
Brenda Shima (AIT)
Retrospective podcast
Kenny Ogunmiloro (BCOS TV)

Best Print/Online

Ikenwa Nnabuogor (Score Nigeria)
Shina Oludare (GOAL.COM)
Omoniyi Feranmi (Premium Times)
Ojora Babatunde (OJB Sports)

Best Sports Photography

Ayodele Ibidapo
Victor Modo
Justina Aniefiok
Christopher Onah

About Julius Southworth

Check Also

Miguel Raimundo shares his secret of beautiful street portraits

“It’s the best way to make friends,” says Portuguese street photographer Miguel Raimundo when asked …