Meath Chronicle Wins Five Local Ireland Media Award Nominations

Over 500 applications received for 14 editorial and business categories in print and digital publications

The Meath Chronicle earned five nominations in four categories at this year’s Local Ireland Media Awards, which recognize and celebrate the excellence of regional news editors.

The Chronicle’s innovative use of video and online content received TWO nominations in the Best Use of Digital section.

The first video story was about the plight of the homeless and homeless in Navan before Christmas 2020 and the local outreach team trying to help them.

The second nod in this category was for the Chronicle’s Lockdown Heroes campaign where the newspaper celebrated the people who uplifted and inspired their communities during the height of the pandemic. The video saw the recipients surprised with their awards and certificates. Here’s one of those videos shown to Sinead Baker at Athboy who won the ‘Best Neighbor’ award, while another shows one of Special Hands’ joint winners Shay and Linda receiving their award.

Journalist Sally harding was nominated in the Best Feature Film section for her story about a transgender woman from Kells who shared her story and thanked her hometown for their support and acceptance.

The newspaper’s campaign celebrating the Lockdown Heroes was also nominated in the Best Innovation category while the High St Ashbourne promotional campaign was selected for the list of Best Advertising Campaigns.

Over 500 entries were received in 14 editorial and business categories in print and digital publications.

Editor-in-Chief Gavan Becton said he was delighted that the hard work and commitment to providing quality local journalism to the people of Meath was recognized by the judges and sent his best wishes to all nominees.

“We are delighted to have been nominated and especially after the very difficult year that we have had. We have sought to address the challenges that the pandemic has presented to us and our communities and to continue to produce the best editorial content possible.

Jury President Ine Kerr said: “For the past two years when the world was chaotic and unpredictable, what was consistent and stable in people’s daily lives was their local newspaper.

“This year’s nominees demonstrate the ability of local Irish newspapers to meet unprecedented challenges and deliver quality, public service-oriented journalism. The nominees represent the best of local Irish journalism today.

The prizes, which are sponsored by the National Lottery, will take place on Thursday, November 11 at the Bloomfield House Hotel, near Mullingar.

National Lottery Managing Director Andrew Algeo said: “At the National Lottery we are incredibly proud of our association with the Local Ireland Media Awards, which continue to recognize the important role of local journalism in our society.

“Local media in Ireland have a long and proud tradition of producing trusted and exceptional journalists and these awards rightly recognize those journalists and their colleagues who provide vital public service through groundbreaking reporting at a time when we have it. most needed.

“This is our fourth year of sponsorship for the Local Ireland Awards and we are particularly honored to judge our own special award for Best Community History. “

The awards will be presented at night by the President of Local Ireland, Declan McGuire of the Connacht Tribune. Mr. McGuire said: “Every appointment is an achievement in itself and the appointees should be justifiably proud of being on the shortlist.

“As the judges said, the entry level has been extremely high. I would like to thank and congratulate everyone who entered the awards for their contribution to the high standards of professional journalism that we see in all of our membership titles. It is through everyone’s efforts that we continue to play such a valuable role in our communities across the country.

The judges of the Local Ireland Awards are: President Áine Kerr, co-founder and COO; Michael Foley, Professor Emeritus, School of Media, University of Technology Dublin: Dawn Wheatley, DCU School of Communications; Managing Director of Kinetic Ireland Andrew Sinclair; photographer and former Irish Times editor Frank Miller; presenter and writer Valerie Cox; and journalist and author PJ Cunningham.

And kudos to our sister titles nominated for the Local Ireland Media Awards, Westmeath Independent, Connaught Telegraph and Anglo Celt …


Best photography:

John Kelly, Clare Champion – The Village Blacksmith

Joe O’Shaughnessy, Connacht Tribune – Off target

John Kelly, Clare Champion – Pyrite Home

Lorraine Teevan, Anglo-Celtic – The wind that shakes the Brolly

Best use of photography:

Southern Star – Sacred Smoke;

Connacht Tribune – Back in our bubble

Champion Sligo – Public To The Rescue

Connacht Tribune – Pecked hen

Best News Series:

Mayo News – What’s better for the West

Galway City Tribune – The Miracle of Galway Bay

The people of Wexford – Home in our hearts

The Kerryman – Help Ronan Get Surgery

Best Local Advertising:

Connacht Tribune – Athens Credit Union

Connacht Tribune – Craughwell Furniture

Anglo-Celtic – Credit Union

Connacht Tribune – Connacht Hospitality

Best advertising campaign:

Meath Chronicle – High Street Ashbourne

Connacht Tribune – Connacht Hospitality

Mediahuis Ireland Regionals – E-Paper

Better use of digital:

Waterford News and Star – The family that beat the virus

Meath Chronicle – The Rough Sleepers of Navan

The leader of Limerick – Coaching Insights

Meath Chronicle – Lockdown Hero Awards

Better use of social media:

Drogheda Independent – Promotional Videos

Western People – The Night U2 Rocked Ballina

Connacht Tribune – We’re all in the same boat

Independent Westmeath – Midlands TV News

Best innovation:

Wexford People – We miss you

Connaught Telegraph – Mayo Day

Meath Chronicle – Lockdown Heroes

Mediahuis Ireland Regionals – E-Paper

Sports journalist of the year:

Paul Fitzpatrick, Anglo-Celtic

Jessica Farry, Sligo Champion

Colin Sheridan, Mayo News

Ian Cooney, Herald of Roscommon

Best Feature Story:

Sally Harding, Meath Chronicle – Rachel’s Transformation

Claire Quinn, Waterford News and Star – COVID-19 and the Deise

James Fogarty, Roscommon Herald – Father Molloy

Maria Pepper, Wexford People – Parental Alienation

Community History of the National Lottery of the Year:

Eamon Lacey, The Nationalist / Tipperary Live – Hugs, kisses and tears for Eve as she moves into her new home

Darragh Kelly and Ellen O’Riordan, Roscommon Herald – Fire ignites community response for Tom

Alison Comyn, Drogheda Independent – Drogheda doll plays her part

Dan Danaher, Clare Champion – Residents Fight To Protect Their Homes In Springfield

Best report:

Stephen Corrigan, Galway City Tribune – Home are the Heroes

Anthony Hennigan, Western People – Foxford Home raffle for COVID heroes

Liam Cosgrave, Longford Leader – CAB, Revenue and the Illegal Wedding

Sinead Kelleher – The Kerryman – Skellig Star Direct Provision Controversy

Best supplement:

Westmeath Independent – War on the Press

Waterford News and Star – Days Gone By

Westerners – Through the Ages

Mayo News – All of Ireland

Best homepage:

Galway City Tribune, Home are the Heroes

Mayo News – Gather, Stay Away

The Kerryman – Unprecedented

Connacht Tribune – Bringing out our best

About Julius Southworth

Check Also

Jeffrey Goldberg: Against Labels – The Atlantic

Dear reader, Sometimes I write to you about the sorry state of our democracy, other …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.