Freeze Frame: First Look at the List of World Sports Photography Awards Finalists

The first spectacular images from this year’s World Sports Photography Awards shortlist have been revealed.

Last year saw the world’s top sports photography award, and while shortlists for all of this year’s categories have yet to be finalized, the initial entries for 2021 are just as impressive.

• Find out more: Best cameras for sports photography

Shortlists have now been released for 13 of the 28 sport categories, with contenders for the Racquet Sports category being released tomorrow and a new category shortlist being released daily through May 18. The winners of the 2021 World Sports Photography Prize will be announced on June 2.

Ryan Pierse / Getty Images

(Image credit: Ryan Pierse / Getty Images)

Kirill Kudryavtsev / AFP

(Image credit: Kirill Kudryavtsev / AFP)

Andy Hone / Motorsport Images

(Image credit: Andy Hone / Motorsport Images)

Photographers can submit up to 20 images and must specify the sports categories to which they are entering. The shortlisted images will then be judged in general categories including joy, celebration, sight, determination, speed, precision – with gold, silver and bronze awards for each category and an overall winner.

The overall winner of last year’s World Sports Photography Awards was Richard Heathcote for Getty Images, with his jaw-dropping photo of Anthony Joshua punching Andy Ruiz Jr during their world heavyweight title fight in Diriyah, in Saudi Arabia.

The winners are selected by a jury of sports industry professionals, including 11-time Paralympic gold medalist Baroness Tammi Gray-Thompson and former NFL cornerback and BBC presenter Jason Bell.

The World Sports Photography Awards are open to professional and semi-professional sports photographers and specialist sports photography agencies.
Each photographic photo must have been taken between January 1, 1995 and December 31, 2020 and must specify for which of the 28 sport categories it is submitted.

More details can be found on the World Sports Photography Awards website.

Matt ben stone

(Image credit: Matt Ben Stone)

James Chance / Getty Images

(Image credit: James Chance / Getty Images)

Marc Aspland / The Times

(Image credit: Marc Aspland / The Times)

Read more:

Best telephoto lenses
Best cameras for professionals
Best DSLRs

About Julius Southworth

Check Also

Special Merit Award /

When you fight with the best, rewards are obtained. Gabriela Sabau and Lars Moeller Jensen …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.